link to text navigation
Marine Mammal Commission Web site Banner




The Commission

The Commission consists of three members who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate. The Marine Mammal Protection Act requires that those serving as commissioners be knowledgeable in marine ecology and resource management.

The Commission is assisted in its work by a nine-member Committee of Scientific Advisors on Marine Mammals. Members are appointed by the Chairman of the Commission after consultation with the Chairman of the Council on Environmental Quality, the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, the Director of the National Science Foundation, and the Chairman of the National Academy of Sciences. The Act requires that committee members be knowledgeable in marine ecology and marine mammal affairs.

The Commission also has an Executive Director, who is appointed by the Chairman with the approval of the Commission.

The Commission has staff offices in Bethesda, Maryland. Contact us.


The Commissioners

Daryl J. Boness, Ph.D., Chairman
University of New England
Biddeford, Maine

Michael F. Tillman, Ph.D.
Encinitas, California

Frances M.D. Gulland, Vet. M.B., Ph.D.
The Marine Mammal Center
Sausalito, California



Committee of Scientific Advisors on Marine Mammals

Randall R. Reeves, Ph.D., Chairman
Hudson, Quebec, Canada

Douglas C. Biggs, Ph.D.
Texas A&M University
College Station, Texas

Patricia E. Rosel, Ph.D.
National Marine Fisheries Service
Lafayette, Louisiana

Tim Gerrodette, Ph.D.
National Marine Fisheries Service
La Jolla, California

Jason Baker, Ph.D.
National Marine Fisheries Service
Seattle, Washington

Sue E. Moore, Ph.D.
National Marine Fisheries Service
Seattle, Washington

Robert Suydam, Ph.D.
North Slope Borough
Barrow, Alaska

Douglas Wartzok, Ph.D.
Florida International University
Miami, Florida

Robin W. Baird, Ph.D.
Cascadia Research Collective
Olympia, Washington



Special Advisor on Native Affairs

Vera Metcalf
Alaska Walrus Commission
Nome, Alaska

Marine Mammal Commission Staff

Rebecca Lent, Ph.D.
Executive Director
rlent@mmc.gov

Michael L. Gosliner, Esq.
General Counsel
mgosliner@mmc.gov

Dennis Heinemann, Ph.D.
Director of Science
dheinemann@mmc.gov

Peter O. Thomas, Ph.D.
International and Policy Program Director
pthomas@mmc.gov

David W. Laist
Policy and Program Analyst
dlaist@mmc.gov

Samantha E. Simmons, Ph.D.
Assistant Scientific Program Director
ssimmons@mmc.gov

Victoria R. C. Cornish
Energy Policy Analyst
vcornish@mmc.gov

Vacant
Fisheries Science and Policy Analyst

Tiffini J. Brookens
Biologist (Authorizations and Permits)
tbrookens@mmc.gov

Catherine Shrestha
Administrative Officer
cshrestha@mmc.gov

Vacant
Research Program Officer
rpo@mmc.gov

Darel E. Jordan
Staff Assistant
djordan@mmc.gov

Vacant
Staff Assistant



(top)

Marine Mammal Commission Home page About the Marine Mammal Commission About the Commission The Library Calendar Site Index Our Staff About this Site Job Vacancies To Contact Us Privacy Notice Disclaimer

Revised | Questions, Comments? Contact Us | How To Find Our Office | Report Error On This Page | Site Index | Marine Mammal Commission
http://mmc.gov