link to text navigation
Marine Mammal Commission Web site Banner

Marine Mammal Species

Marine Mammal Species of Special Concern

Section 202 of the Marine Mammal Protection Act directs the Marine Mammal Commission, in consultation with its Committee of Scientific Advisors, to make recommendations to the Department of Commerce, the Department of the Interior, and other federal agencies on research and management actions needed to conserve species of marine mammals.

To meet this charge, the Commission devotes special attention to particular species and populations that are vulnerable to various types of human-related activities, impacts, and contaminants. Such species may include marine mammals listed as endangered or threatened under the Endangered Species Act or as depleted under the Marine Mammal Protection Act. In addition, the Commission often directs special attention to other species or populations of marine mammals not so listed whenver special conservation challenges arise that may affect them.

View the Species of Special Concern List

Listings of Marine Mammal Species

Modern marine mammals include the order Cetacea (whales, dolphins, and porpoises), the order Sirenia (dugongs and manatees), and members of the order Carnivora (the polar bear and otters), and the pinnipeds (seals and sea lions). Due to the diverse nature of marine mammal classification, we have organized lists of marine mammal species to serve as a quick and simple reference.

* This section is undergoing maintenance, the links below are not available

  • The Scientific Listing of Marine Mammal Species
  • The Alphabetical Listing of Marine Mammal Species


Marine Mammal Commission Home page About the Marine Mammal Commission About the Commission The Library Calendar Site Index Our Staff About this Site Job Vacancies To Contact Us Privacy Notice Disclaimer

Revised | Questions, Comments? Contact Us | How To Find Our Office | Report Error On This Page | Site Index | Marine Mammal Commission